Haneul Park

World Cup Park: http://worldcuppark.seoul.go.kr/worldcup_eng/index.html

I welcome you to Hanel Park!

The World Cup Park was built to commemorate the 17th FIFA World Cup. Opened in May 1st, 2002, the park was once a 15-year-old landfill that held over 92 million tons of garbage. It took 6 years to stabilize the waste (measures were taken to prevent the garbage runoff from contaminating the environment) and an additional year to build the actual park itself. The park is located near the Seoul World Cup stadium, and is made up of five smaller parks including the Pyeonghwa ‘Peace’ Park, Haneul ‘Sky’ Park, and Noeul ‘Sunset’ Park.

<Seoul World Cup Stadium>

Homepage: http://www.sisul.or.kr/grobal/eng/index.jsp

Korea Be Inspired http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_6.jsp?cid=260215

 I went to ‘Hanel Park’ to relieve my mind.  Actually, it is relatively hard to enjoy nature in Seoul. Many people feel hard to breathe among fast moving cars and gray skyscrappers. When you feel choked while you were dynamically moving in Seoul City, you’re welcomed anytime in Seoul Worldcup Park to put busy ordinary life down for awhile and give yourself time to relax. That’s why Seoulites love this place.

 

< Nanjicheon Park>

When I first came to this park, I couldn’t stop myself from saying ‘Wow’. This road reminded me of a park in a novel or a movie scene. I’ve always wanted to walk on the road like this.  

I regret that I found a place like this now. I really envied people who live near here and could come here often. What is the most meaningful about Worldcup Park is that they’re parks that are built on Seoul’s large garbage reclamation site, Nanjido. Seoul decided to turn the place into something eco-friendly, besides its image that is destroyed because of garbage reclamation. The project was very successful. Now, Nanjido changed itself into an eco-friendly green park, which is a relieving site for Seoulites.

Haneul Park is located at a relatively high hill. That’s why this park is named after ‘Sky’. If you go upstairs along this exactly 291 stairs, you can reach a place that is nearest to the sky in Seoul. Compared to Seoul’s sky that is usually covered with high skyscrappers, sky that is looked from Haneul Park is broad,clear, and fresh. That must be why many Seoulites pick this place as their favorite.

One of the reason why I feel grateful that Haneul Park is located on the hill is that I can enjoy fantastic view of Seoul at here! Up here, whole sight of Seoul catches people’s eyes with wonder. Especially, sight of Han River from Haneul Park is very beautiful and seems like it broadens my mind, making me breathe more easily and freshily.

I think taking a walk is really important in a person’s life. However, many people do not find appropriate place to take a walk in Seoul. Today, I found a perfect place! Every girl dreams of walking along a road like this, holding a dream guy’s hand. That’s what I dreamt while I was walking on this road. If I had lived near this park, I would have come here with a book and MP3 player everytime I have a free time to take a walk here. Relaxation is really important in every human’s life. It gives a time to think.

These signs are for Land Fill Gas Well, since this park is built above garbage land fill. Now, the gas from garbages are used to supply energy for this park and Seoul citizens. Seoul government is putting a lot of effort into recycling and eco-friendly business. It is actually an international issues. I think places like Haneul Park should be created more in the world.

Showing it is an eco-friendly concept park, there are plants growing on the rooftop of information center building. There is nature in everywhere of Haneul Park. It’s a bit unfamilliar that we can find this kind of relaxing and natural place in Seoul, which always seems reckless and dynamic.

This road is a road that is made for citizens to walk with barefeet. Since it was winter, it is covered with cloth. I heard from somewhere that walking barefeet is really good for physical and mental health. Sometimes, free yourself from tightening shoes!

 

You can wash your feet here after you walk barefeet.

These uniquely designed benches are popular for Seoulites! People can eat lunch here, hav a talk here, while enjoying sights of Han River! It almost feels like I’m at a seashore. I once heard that it is very rare for a river that is so long and wide like Han river to be located at the center of a city like Seoul. I always thank for Han River to exist there, giving Seoulites many conveniences and beautiful sight among this barren city. I always wish to live beside Han River! Wouldn’t it be wonderful to see sight of Han River through windows or balconies of my own home?

Green and Blue color refreshes a person’s mind.

When I visited Haneul Park, it was at the middle of work of cutting Eulaila. Eulalia is a plant that represents Haneul Park. In October, Eulalia festival is held in Haneul Park. Many people say that harmony of Eulalia, wind, and blue sky is a sublime sight. Sound of Eulalia waving with wind must be very romantic with blue autumn sky above them. I wish I came here in autumn. It doesn’t matter, since this autumn is still remaining for me to visit here!

World Cup Park Eulalia Festival:

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_2_1.jsp?cid=293231

Homepage: http://worldcuppark.seoul.go.kr/guide/pampas_1.html (Korean)

This is Haneul Park’s observatory called ‘Growing Sculpture’ In Haneul Park, even an observatory is an art piece. Its Korean name means ‘A bowl that holds sky in it’. It is shaped like a bowl, and people can go inside and look around sight from the observatory. What its English name means is a growth of hope and nature. Actually, rattans are actually growing around Growing Sculpture. Rattan is a tree that is similar to ‘Ivy’. It is a tree, but it clings to something next to its exhistence like a vine. It will gorw along the observatory, clinging to it, and at last, the Growing Sculpture will be covered with growing green rattan. It’s quite unimaginable, and I’m really expecting to see when it is covered with color green!

Another thing that is eco-friendly in Haneul Park is windmill. There are several windmills in Haneul Park that are used for wind power generation. It’s a beautiful sight, and at the same time, an eco-friendly way of generating energy from natural resources. This energy is also used for park’s streetlights and so on.

I highly recommend this place to everyone who visits Seoul. If you think dynamic and vivid images of Seoul are enough, you’ll be glad to visit here, I’m sure. Put every thoughts that bother you down for a while, and dive into a world that is always waiting there to relieve you with broad heart. Nature is always there for you.

Hi Seoul Soul Of Asia World Cup Park:http://english.seoul.go.kr/gtk/news/reports_view.php?idx=1204

http://english.seoul.go.kr/gtk/news/news_view.php?idx=7505

4 thoughts on “Haneul Park

    • I’m so glad it helped. I recommend you to come here during autumn while Flame Grass Festival is held in the park. The Flame Grass with autumn sky would be so beautiful, I swear. You can enjoy sight of Han River from the park, too! If you luckil happen to spend a day here, you will also be able to enjoy fantastic night view of Seoul. It would be good if you can look around other parks near Haneul Park such as Noeul Park and Pyounghwa park. They’re great, too!
      P.S. Sorry that I didn’t write any explanation becase I was quite busy. I’m planning to write something more.
      Visit if you’re available.

Leave a Reply

